Almost every state requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of insurance coverage. Oregon’s insurance laws make sure each driver can meet his or her responsibilities if he or she causes an accident. Furthermore, the law also provides protection for each driver.
Oregon.gov explains that the legal requirements for insurance include a minimum coverage for uninsured motorist, personal injury protection, and bodily injury and property damage liability. Each insurance coverage may protect the driver in different ways.
The uninsured motorist requirement protects a driver if he or she has an accident with a driver who does not have insurance coverage. It provides payments for injuries that occur from the driver’s own insurance. This is an important part of a policy because many drivers do not carry insurance even though it is the law. The required coverage is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per crash for bodily injury.
Personal injury protection
This coverage provides some additional protection for the driver not at fault in an accident. While Oregon is a fault state where a person may sue a driver at fault in an accident, having PIP allows each driver to handle his or her own medical expenses up to the $15,000 minimum requirement.
Bodily injury and property damage liability
Coverage required is $25,000 per person, $50,000 per crash for bodily injury to others and $20,000 per crash for property damage. This part of a policy will only cover the expenses of others in an accident that is the policy holder’s fault.
While there are some limited exemptions to vehicles that must have insurance coverage, most drivers must carry at least these minimums. However, it is often a good idea to carry additional coverage to pay for other damages and costs associated with an accident. Costs of an auto accident can often rise far above the minimum policy requirements.